Previous Mangers

Previous England World Cup Managers

Since 1947 the England football team have had 16 managers over the 52 period, five of which have been appointed since the turn of the 21st century.

Walter Winterbottom - 1947–1963

Winterbottom was the first post war England manager and came from an era when managers were left in charge long enough to leave a legacy serving his country for sixteen years

Alf Ramsey - 1963–1974

Ramsey took over from Winterbottom and was known as a firm but fair manager. His greatest achievement was leading his England side to the World Cup Final in 1966.

Ron Greenwood - 1977–1982

Greenwood managed to guide his England side to their first World Cup in 12 years by qualifying for the 1982 World Cup in Spain.

Bobby Robson - 1982–1990

Robson took over from Greenwood after the England side were knocked out of the 1982 World Cup, he immediately courted controversy by dropping Kevin Keegan in his first game in charge.

Glenn Hoddle  - 1996 -1999

Taking over from Terry Venables, Hoddle looked like the perfect choice in the role of England manager but his comments in an interview with a national newspaper led to his early dismissal.

Sven-Goran Eriksson - 2001–2006

The appointment of Sven-Goran Eriksson caused a major controversy among England fans after the English Football Association appointed him as the first foreign manager of the English national team.